Ever sent out a mail and you find out the next second that it went to the wrong recipient? There seem to be fewer problems but could be trouble when the content of the mail is classified and all you wished was to know how to cancel the sent mail or recall it. You actually can! Gmail lets users recall emails sent for a specific period after the mail is sent. All you need do is go to settings and activate it.

Follow the steps listed to recall your sent email.

Click on the Settings/Gear button on the top right corner of your screen. The button appears right below your image for the Google Plus profile. Select ‘Settings’ from the dropdown menu.

20130830_114604

You will be presented with multiple tabbed options. Choose ‘Labs’ from the options present (third from the right) and scroll towards the bottom.

20130830_120956
Third from the bottom, you will be presented with an option to ‘Undo Send’. Select Enable to the right of that option

20130830_120502
Scroll to the bottom of the screen and click on the ‘Save Changes’ button. Wait, your Undo Send option might be activated, but there’s still more to be done. Once you click ‘Save Changes’, you will be taken to your Inbox by default.

Follow the first step and go to Settings option.

You will land on the ‘General’ tab by default. Scroll down the tab and somewhere in the middle, you will see the option to ‘Undo Send’. The option will already be ticked, confirming your selection. Right below the tick mark, you can then choose the amount of time in which you can recall a sent email. You can choose anywhere from 5 seconds to 30 seconds.

20130830_122207

Once you choose your time, scroll to the bottom and click on ‘Save Changes’

20130830_122500

If you find this article informative and want your friends to know about it, kindly hit the ‘like’ and ‘share‘ buttons below